A film is a mirror in which we often see ourselves. And Awards are just the way to know films are going in the right direction, Quotes Hirav Shah, Prominent Film Adviser, Strategist and Astrologer.

The National Film Awards is the most prominent film award ceremony in India. Established in 1954, it has been administered, along with the International Film Festival of India and the Indian Panorama, by the Indian government’s Directorate of Film Festivals since 1973.

Every year, a national panel appointed by the government selects the winning entry, and the award ceremony is held in New Delhi, where the President of India presents the awards. This is followed by the inauguration of the National Film Festival, where the award-winning films are screened for the public. Declared for films produced in the previous year across the country, they hold the distinction of awarding merit to the best of Indian cinema overall, as well as presenting awards for the best films in each region and language of the country. Due to the national scale of the awards, they are believed to be the most prestigious cinema awards in India.

67th National Film Awards

The 67th National Film Awards have finally been announced. Delayed by one year due to the coronavirus pandemic, the awards were announced during a press conference in Delhi on Monday.This time, there were 461 films in the Feature Film category and 220 films in the Non-Feature Film category.

Hindi films won big in the feature film category. While the Best Actor award went to Manoj Bajpayee (Bhosle) and Dhanush (Tamil), Kangana Ranaut won the Best Actress award for her performance in Manikarnika and Panga. Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham emerged as the Best Feature Film while the Best Feature Film (Hindi) went to Sushant Singh Rajput’s Chhichhore.

Here is the complete list of all the winners

Feature Film Awards

  • Best Feature Film: Marakkar: Lion of the Arabian Sea (Malayalam)
  • Best Actor (shared): Manoj Bajpayee for Bhonsle (Hindi), and Dhanush for Asuran (Tamil)
  • Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut for Panga (Hindi) and Manikarnika: The Queen of Jhansi (Hindi)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Pallavi Joshi for The Tashkent Files (Hindi)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Vijay Sethupathi for Super Deluxe (Tamil)
  • Best Director: Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan for Bahattar Hoorain (Hindi)
  • Best Debut Film of a Director: Mathukutty Xavier for Helen (Malayalam)
  • Best Child Artist: Naga Vishal for KD (Tamil)
  • Best Action Direction: Avane Srimannarayana (Kannada), Vikram Mor
  • Best Choreography: Maharishi (Telugu), Raju Sundaram
  • Best Special Effects: Marakkar: Lion of the Arabian Sea (Malayalam), Siddharth Priyadarshan
  • Special Jury Award: Oththa Seruppu Size 7 (Tamil), Radhakrishnan Parthiban
  • Best Lyrics: Prabha Varma for Kolaambi (Malayalam)
  • Best Music Direction: D. Imman for Viswasam (Tamil)
  • Best Background Music: Prabuddha Banerjee for Jyeshthoputro (Bengali)
  • Best Make-up Artist: Ranjith for Helen (Malayalam)
  • Best Costumes: Sujith Sudhakaran and V. Sai for Marakkar: Lion of the Arabian Sea (Malayalam)
  • Best Production Design: Anandi Gopal (Marathi), Sunil Nigwekar and Nilesh Wagh
  • Best Audiography (Location Sound Recordist): Iewduh (Khasi), Debajit Gayan
  • Best Audiography (Re-recordist of final mixed track): Oththa Seruppu Size 7 (Tamil), Resul Pookutty
  • Best Screenplay (Original): Jyeshthoputro (Bengali), Kaushik Ganguly
  • Best Screenplay (Adapted): Gumnaami (Bengali), Srijit Mukherji
  • Best Screenplay (Dialogue Writer): The Tashkent Files (Hindi), Vivek Ranjan Agnihotri
  • Best Cinematography: Jallikattu (Malayalam), Gireesh Gangadharan
  • Best Editing: Jersey (Telugu), Navin Nooli
  • Best Children’s Film: Kastoori (Hindi)
  • Best Film on Environment Conservation: Water Burial (Monpa)
  • Best Film on Social Issues: Anandi Gopal (Marathi)
  • Best Film on National Integration: Tajmahal (Marathi)
  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Maharishi (Telugu)
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Savani Ravindra for Bardo (Marathi)
  • Best Male Playback Singer: B Praak for Kesari (Hindi)
  • Best Films in Each Language-
  • Best Hindi Film: Chhichhore
  • Best Telugu Film: Jersey
  • Best Malayalam Film: Kalla Nottam
  • Best Tamil Film: Asuran
  • Best Paniya Film: Kenjira
  • Best Mishing Film: Anu Ruwad
  • Best Khasi Film: Iewduh
  • Best Chattisgarhi Film: Bhulan the Maze
  • Best Haryanvi Film: Chhoriyan Chhoron Se Kam Nahi Hoti
  • Best Tulu Film: Pingara
  • Best Punjabi Film: Rab Da Radio 2
  • Best Odia Film: Kalira Atita and Sala Budhar Badla (shared)
  • Best Manipuri Film: Eigi Kona
  • Best Marathi Film: Bardo
  • Best Konkani Film: Kaajro
  • Best Kannada Film: Akshi
  • Best Bengali Film: Gumnaami
  • Best Assamese Film: Ronuwa – Who Never Surrender
  • Special Mentions: Biriyani (Malayalam), Jonaki Porua (Assamese), Lata Bhagwan Kare (Marathi) and Picasso (Marathi)
  • Non-Feature Film Awards-
  • Best Voice-over/ Narration: Sir David Attenborough forWild Karnataka (English)
  • Best Music Direction: Bishakhjyoti for Kranti Darshi Guruji – Ahead of Times (Hindi)
  • Best Editing: Arjun Gourisaria for Shut Up Sona (Hindi/ English)
  • Best Audiography: Radha (Musical), Allwin Rego and Sanjay Maurya
  • Best On-Location Sound Recordist: Rahas (Hindi), Saptarshi Sarkar
  • Best Cinematography: Savita Singh for Sonsi (Hindi)
  • Best Direction: Sudhanshu Saria for Knock Knock Knock (English/ Bengali)
  • Best Film on Family Values: Oru Paathira Swapnam Pole (Malayalam)
  • Best Short Fiction Film: Custody (Hindi/ English)
  • Special Jury Award: Small Scale Societies (English)
  • Best Animation Film: Radha (Musical)
  • Best Investigative Film: Jakkal (Marathi)
  • Best Exploration Film: Wild Karnataka (English)
  • Best Educational Film: Apples and Oranges (English)
  • Best Film on Social Issues: Holy Rights (Hindi) and Ladli (Hindi)
  • Best Environment Film: The Stork Saviours (Hindi)
  • Best Promotional Film: The Shower (Hindi)
  • Best Arts and Culture Film: Shrikshetra-Ru-Sahijata (Odia)
  • Best Biographical Film: Elephants Do Remember (English)
  • Best Ethnographic Film: Charan-Atva The Essence of Being a Nomad (Gujarati)
  • Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Raj Pritam More for Khisa (Marathi)
  • Best Non-Feature Film: An Engineered Dream (Hindi)

Other Awards

  • Most Film Friendly State: Sikkim
  • Best Book on Cinema: A Gandhian Affair: India’s Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema, by Sanjay Suri
  • (Special mentions: Cinema Paharana Manus by Ashok Rane
    Kannada Cinema: Jagathika Cinema Vikasa-Prerane Prabhava written by PR Ramadasa Naidu)
  • Best Film Critic: Sohini Chattopadhyay

Final Thoughts

National Film Awards have been referred to,as Indian Film Industry’s “equivalent” to the Academy Awards in the United States, and it is till date, Opines Hirav Shah.

On that note, Shah Sums Up By Saying-

Awards refer to any form of acclamation or recognition that you receive for your outstanding performance or your efforts in a particular field or in your profession. Awards are a motivational tool that keeps you going. Besides being a mark of excellence, awards help boost your morale and help you aim and achieve bigger accomplishments.

Awards can encourage you, uplift you, illuminate you and empower you.